Class Permissions:

How Do Permissions Work?

The enrollment permission will allow students to enroll themselves in restricted courses via myWCU.

Permissions can be issued for: Overriding prerequisites; granting department consent; allowing students to enroll into closed classes; and allowing students to enroll into restricted courses such as: Independent studies, Individualized instructions, credit by exam courses.

1. When a student is granted permission to enroll into a course they will receive an email via their WCU student account. It will notify them what course they have been granted permission for and how to enroll.

2. Students will also be able to see the permissions they have been granted and not yet used, on their myWCU page under the “my schedule” sections.

3. Once permission has been used it will be removed from the My Schedule list in myWCU.

4. The student enrollment process seamlessly ties to enrollment permissions. Students follow the standard procedures to search for and enroll in classes via myWCU.

a. If students have been given closed class permission, they will need to uncheck the “show open classes only” box on the search page in order to have their course appear.

b. myWCU automatically checks for permissions when a student goes to enroll into a class they have been issued permission for. Students don’t need to take any additional steps to indicate they have received permission to enroll into the course.

Students should be aware that it is their responsibility to register for all courses and should check the accuracy of their course schedule in myWCU frequently.

 

Permission Notification:

myWCU will automatically email students when permission has been added, edited, or deleted for them.

The email informs the student of what class they have been given permission to and instructions on how to register.

Emails are sent when the following actions occur:

 

Student Enrollment with Class Permissions:

The student enrollment process doesn't change with the implementation of permissions.  In myWCU, students click on the Enroll in a Class link. Here they will search for the class they have been given permission to enroll in.   If students have been given closed class permission, they will need to uncheck the “show open classes only” box on the search page in order to have their course appear.

Once students find the class, they can add the course to their tentative schedule and then complete the enrollment process.  The system automatically checks permissions against potential registration barrier (unmet prerequisite requirements for example).

If the student tries to enroll in a class and the permission has expired, the student is notified of that via an error message they receive.

 

Click the + sign to the expand the menu:

Click a topic to launch the player:

Click the See It! button to view the tutorial.  Print the tutorial by selecting Print It!:

 


Table of Contents  Back

Concept_for_Class_Permissions