Purging or Inactivating Content


Concept


Steps:

  1. Begin by navigating to the Purge/Inactivate page.

     

    Click the Content Management link.

    Step 1
  2. Click the Purge/Inactivate link.

    Step 2
  3. You can run this process by searching for an existing run control ID or you can add a new value. Creating a run control ID that is relevant to the process may help you remember it for future use.

     

    Click the Add a New Value tab.

    Step 3
  4. Enter the desired information into the Run Control ID field. Enter

     a valid value
     e.g.
     "PURGE_MC"
    .

    Step 4
  5. Click the Add button.

    Step 5
  6. Use the Purge/Inactivate page to enter request parameters. These parameters will be used to define the processing rules and data to be included when the process is run.

     

    Only items in the content management system that meet all of the selection criteria will be processed by the Purge/Inactivate process.

     

    Warning! Use care in selecting and processing items from this page. Content or folders that are purged from the system cannot be retrieved.

     

    In this example, you will purge managed content within a specified range of content IDs.

    Step 6
  7. Click the Feature list.

    Step 7
  8. Select the feature from the content management system.

     

    Click the Managed Content list item.

    Step 8
  9. Click the Action list.

    Step 9
  10. The Purge/Inactivate process can be set up to execute one of several actions depending on the feature selected:

    Delete Past Versions deletes the noncurrent versions of a piece of content. Only the last approved version and any successive versions of the content are retained.

    Purge Items deletes content, folders, or both from the system. This action excludes folders that do not allow deletes and content in folders that do not allow deletes.

    Set Inactive Date updates the inactive date for the selected content.

    Unpublish Content changes the content’s status from published to pending (or blank).

     

    Click the Purge Items list item.

    Step 10
  11. Click the operator list.

    Step 11
  12. Click the Less Than Or Equal To list item.

    Step 12
  13. Click in the content ID field.

    Step 13
  14. Enter the desired information into the content ID field. Enter

     a valid value
     e.g.
     "1050"
    .

    Step 14
  15. Click the Preview button.

    Step 15
  16. Use the Preview Selection page to preview the list of items that will be affected by the Purge/Inactivate process.

    Step 16
  17. Click the Return button.

    Step 17
  18. Click the Run button.

    Step 18
  19. Use the Process Scheduler Request page to enter or update parameters, such as server name and process output format.

     

    In this example, you will not enter or update any parameters.

    Step 19
  20. Use the Type field to select the type of output that you want to generate for this job. In this example, the default value is Web.

    Step 20
  21. Use the Format field to define the output format for the report. The values are dependent upon the process type you have selected. In this example, the default value is TXT.

    Step 21
  22. Click the OK button.

    Step 22
  23. The process is now running. Notice that your process has been assigned a process instance number. It is a good idea to make a note of the process instance number for future tracking.

    Step 23
  24. Now that you have used Process Scheduler to run your report, you will use Process Monitor to monitor the status of your report.

     

    You use Process Monitor to:

    • Check the status of your submitted process requests.

    • Cancel process requests that have been initiated or are currently processing.

    • Hold process requests that are queued, and queue process requests that you have put on hold.

     

    Click the Process Monitor link.

    Step 24
  25. Use the Process List page to view the status of submitted process requests.

     

    The Purge/Inactivate process that you just ran, process instance 574, has completed successfully.

    Step 25

You have completed purging or inactivating managed content.

Table of Contents  Start Topic