Managing Workspace Membership


Concept


Steps:

  1. Begin by navigating to the Members page of the collaborative workspace.

     

    Click the Portal Administration link.

    Step 1
  2. Click the Workspaces link.

    Step 2
  3. Click the Manage Workspaces link.

    Step 3
  4. Click an entry in the Workspace column.

    Step 4
  5. Click the Administration link.

    Step 5
  6. Click the Members tab.

    Step 6
  7. Use the Members page to add or delete members and assign privileges for a collaborative workspace. You can add members by role or user ID. Six privilege levels are available for workspace members added by user ID: administrator, approver, contributor, moderator, owner, and viewer. Members added by role cannot be assigned the administrator or owner privileges.

     

    Notice that the portal administrator who created the workspace has been added automatically as the workspace owner.

     

    In this example, you will add two new members to the workspace. The first member will be added by role; the second member will be added by user ID. Then, you will send a notification to the new members inviting them to participate in the collaborative workspace.

    Step 7
  8. Add the first new member by role with viewer privileges.

     

    Click the Add Workspace Member button.

    Step 8
  9. Click in the Member Name field.

    Step 9
  10. Enter the desired information into the Member Name field. Enter

     a valid value
     e.g.
     "PAPP_EMPLOYEE"
    .

    Step 10
  11. Click the Send Invite option.

    Step 11
  12. Click the Privilege Set list.

    Step 12
  13. Click the Viewer list item.

    Step 13
  14. Add the second new member by user ID with administrator privileges.

     

    Click the Add Workspace Member button.

    Step 14
  15. Click the Type list.

    Step 15
  16. Click the User list item.

    Step 16
  17. Click in the Member Name field.

    Step 17
  18. Enter the desired information into the Member Name field. Enter

     a valid value
     e.g.
     "PTDMO"
    .

    Step 18
  19. Click the Send Invite option.

    Step 19
  20. Click the Privilege Set list.

    Step 20
  21. Click the Administrator list item.

    Step 21
  22. Send notification to the new members that they have been added to the workspace.

     

    Click the Send Invitations button.

    Step 22
  23. Use the Set Invitation Message page to complete one of two tasks. If you accessed this page from the Invitation Message link, then you can compose the default notification message for this workspace. If you accessed this page through the Send Invitations button, then you can modify the default notification message and send it to the members selected on the Members page. Any modification made to the message when sending a notification to members is not saved as the new default message for the workspace.

     

    In this example, you selected two new members on the Members page and will send them the default message.

    Step 23
  24. Send the message to the selected members.

     

    Click the OK button.

    Step 24
  25. Notice that the notifications have been sent. However, you still need to save the changes to the workspace membership.

     

    Click the Save button.

    Step 25

You have completed managing workspace membership for a collaborative workspace.

Table of Contents  Start Topic